Converter {W10:Mar8-14}

As the development of devices, we are enjoying the flexibility of format for each device and at the mean time, we are also suffering from converting formats between each device. You probably don’t know what I am talking about; Me neither until I try to download/upload video for this major project.

It all started with the outline of my project, which means I need a tool to record a PowerPoint training manual. After couple days, I decided to give Camtasia Studio 6 a try. Don’t get me wrong, it is a nice recording tool for this project. As I mentioned in last week’s post, it is pretty easy to follow and manipulate. The problem is there are limited video types that could be added as media into Camtasia to edit and the same with PowerPoint. For example, “.flv” format of video is unable to insert into either PowerPoint nor Camtasia Studio. And somehow most of video on Youtube or other video websites are in this format. That is why I started to find a way to convert flv format of video into commonly adopt format for PowerPoint and Camtasia, such as “.asf”, “.avi”, “.mpeg”, or “.wmv”.

To solve my problem, I have tried lots of ways by Google converter for video in flv format. “vixy.net” is the first thing I tried which is a free online converter by pasting the flv video URL into this site and it will convert it into your requested format for you. Worked the first time and then when I convert, they are all out of time. I figure it is only work if the video is within the limited amount of BM. I also tried couple online converter after this one but none of them worked. Therefore, I download a converter named Emicsoft FLV Converter; It works for my video but only when the video is within 5 min.

Regardless the limitation, it is working for all my video; so now I am able to find a YouTube video, convert it into WMV format and insert into my PowerPoint or edit by Camtasia. My new problem is once I insert any video into PowerPoint and recorded with Camtasia, the video will not show up on the product video that edit by Camtasia. They are all blocked with only the audio of video left in the recording. I am no pro but I am looking for one that could fix this or give me any suggestion about this issue so that I could record talking while the video is showing at the PowerPoint. Right now, I am working on this and try to figure out a way to avoid this situation which might cause extra works.

Leave a comment

Filed under weekly entry

Leave a Reply

